scams from auto trader
June 27, 2010
Filed under People
I have a car for sale on auto trader this is a scam email.
Date: Sat, Jun 26, 2010 at 12:45 PM
Subject: HONDA CIVIC 1.4 I-VTEC SE Executive 4dr IMA Saloon £4400
To: peter.preston2@gmail.com
–
Hey Seller,
I am interested in your advent’s for sale please i will appreciate
your email me the following sale details for me .. Since you are
seller, you should be able to clarified this few question for me so
that i will be able to determine the condition of the item.
1. How long have you owned it
2. Have you owned it from new? If not how many previous owner?
3. Why are you selling it?
4. In your opinion, what sort of condition is it?
5. Any available photo?
6. Last Price?
Where is it presently located and i would be very glad if you can get
it sold to me. Kindly email me back, if it’s still for sale.
Your quick response to this will be highly appreciated…
Paulinus
This post was submitted by peter preston.

maybe i dont know much about cars, but how is this email a scam?
I’m not sure I understand this one either…..
Poor spelling and grammar scam?
THIS IS THE 3RD B.S. AD SINCE POSTING MY CAR FOR SALE…
These idiots follow the same form letter.
They are xvz postion (usually professional or military), always not in town, always use a bogus reason (i.e. gift, surprise, etc…), always have a “pick up agent”, always insist on PayPal. My bet that since their grammer is ALWAYS poor. My guess is the point of origin is Nigeria.
Thanks for getting back to me,i am a doctor and am presently not in town…i went to Africa to see my little one who went for tourism but i want to buy the car for my woman has a surprise package because her birthday is around the corner and i won’t be around by then and if you accept my offer i will only be able make payment through Pay Pal at the moment…because i don’t have access to my account on line banking…but i have it attached my paypal account,and this is why i insisted on using Pay Pal to pay,all i will need is your Pay Pal email address to make payments and if you don’t have a Pay Pal account yet,you can set one up at http://www.paypal.com. Get back to me with your Pay Pal email as soon as you set one up.I have a pick up agent that will help me inspect it and come for the pick after i have made the payment. Give me the last price for the car…
This is a scam. The buyer transfers money to your pay pal account and then arranges to collect. As soon as its gone they complain to Paypal that the goods are ‘substantially not as advertised’ which automatically switches the money untraceably back out of your account even if you have already transferred it back to your own account. This either puts you in a negative balance or depending on hoe you account is set up they can take it direct from your account. Result no car and a big debt. ONLY take cash or a verifiable direct payment to a bank account. They could also send you a bogus email which confirms payment to your paypal account when it hasn’t.