Another Brenda Gisboure Scam
February 15, 2010
Filed under People
Just to let you know I received this e-mail from Brenda Gisboure (bgisboure6@gmail.com)an interested buyer for an advert I posted on Gumtree for and iPod. I received several replies asking me to send to the US and was happy to pay any shipping costs however high they were. As below:-
Hi Seller, I came across this advert online and i am very interested in theitem you have for sell.I will like you to furnish me with someinformation about the item below are some of the things i will like toknow about the item before i make up my mind
(1) What is the present condition of the item?
(2) when did you purchase the item?
(3) what is the final asking price for the item?
Kindly get back to me with the following information as soon aspossible so we can go further. I am buying this item for someone sospecial to me so i want it in a very good condition.Note that i amfrom Florida and i will be shipping the item down here if i finallydecide to buy from you.I will be making the payment of this item viapaypal secure online payment due to some reasons best known to mekindly get back to me as soon as you can RegardsBrenda Gisboure
Thought I would do some digging as this seemed like a scam to me and came across an almost identical post already on this site. People like this need stamping out as a lot of people would probably fall for this type of deception.
This post was submitted by Mark Whinnem.

I received the same message from ad placed on Kijiji
it reads:
> Hi Seller,
>
> I came across this advert online and i am very interested in the
> item you have for sell.I will like you to furnish me with some
> information about the item below are some of the things i will like to
> know about the item before i make up my mind
>
> (1) What is the present condition of the item? NEW
> (2) when did you purchase the item? ITEMS ARE CONTINUOUSLY SOLD,
> (3) what is the final asking price for the item? 349.00
> (4) how many do you have in stock? NEW SHIPMENT OF 10 UNITS ARRIVE
> WITHIN THE NEXT 10 DAYS, A 50% REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT SECURES A UNIT.
> PAYMENT THROUGH PAYPAL OF 50%, AND THE BALANCE UPON SHIPPING.
>
>
>
>
> Kindly get back to me with the following information as soon as
> possible so we can go further. I am buying this item for someone so
> special to me so i want it in a very good condition.Note that i am
> from Florida and i will be shipping the item down here if i finally
> decide to buy from you.I will be making the payment of this item via
> paypal secure online payment due to some reasons best known to me
> kindly get back to me as soon as you can
>
>
> Regards
> Brenda Gisboure
>
>
From: gisboure1@gmail.com
Hi I am interested in the immediate purchase of the item,I will like to know the present condition of the item and the final asking price.I am from Manchester so i will be shipping the item down here kindly get back to me with the answers to my question and we can move on from>> >> there.Note if i final make up my mind to buy this item i will be making the payment Via PayPal Thanks
this is what i got from my ad on gumtree london
thanks for posting the feedback so i m safe with that.
Nearly became a victim of another Brenda Gisboure scam after I advertised my guitar on gumtree. If it wasnt for my scepticism and this thread I would of been out of a lot of money. I began receiving emails from a latharnaaiken3@gmail.com.They wanted me to post to an address in London:
Receiver’s Name :Brenda Gisboure
Address : 43 Rivermead House,Hamerton High Road,E9 5QT.
I only become concerned after the following email:
“Thanks for updating me , You will have to scan and send the tracking
details to the bank before they will credit your account.I will call
the bank first hing tomorrow morning so that i can attest to it that i
can received the item i paid for… ”
Utter bullshit.