Anyone In New York – Got Her/His Addy

January 6, 2010  
Filed under People

I’ve been trying to sell my phone online (HTC Dream, btw, if anyone’s interested ;) ), and I received some feedback from a “Brenda Gisboure” (bgisboure@live.com). She indicated that she wanted the phone, and we proceeded through to shipping and payment. Instead of *paying* with PayPal, I get an email from “service@paypal .com”:

You have an Instant Payment from Brenda Gisboure for your
item(s) Goods
Transaction Date: January 5, 2009
Transaction ID: 5Y758892CS5722206
Total Amount: $xxxxxx (I x’d this out)
Payer”s Email: bgisboure@live.com

Shipping Information:

Receiver’s Name: Paul Day
C/o Wadoye Express
Address: 147-03,182nd st
City: Springfield Garden
State: New York
Zip-code: 11413/11414

Status: Confirmed

Note: This PayPal Payment has been deducted from the buyer’s account and has been “APPROVED” but will not be credited to your account until the shipment is verified.
Therefore we urge you to get the merchandise shipped to the buyer’s address and verify it by sending the shipment tracking details to us paypalcustomercare@inbox.com

This transaction is not fraudulent and you are assured of quality service. We encourage you to ship the item immediately (due to PayPal’s policy) as your payment has been confirmed by us. Security is of critical importance at Tradera

Please reply to this email with any questions you may have concerning this pending.
Sincerely, ____________

So, I retrieved my phone from FedEx. If anyone lives in New York and cares to investigate this “Paul Day” person, I’d be very much obliged (obliged enough to offer a discount on a phone, even :) ). I looked up his address/phone number online, and got this:

“17930 149th Ave, Ste 105
Jamaica, NY 11434-5600
(718) 632-7383″

Not sure if Paul Day was a fake name or not, but that’s rather close to what “Brenda” gave me as an address.

kris.r.m@gmail.com is my email (if it doesn’t show up below)

This post was submitted by Kris.



Responses / Feedback

2 Responses to “Anyone In New York – Got Her/His Addy”

  1. Kitty Frank on February 5th, 2010 5:11 pm

    I am getting an offer to buy from this same person and they are asking for the item to be shipped to West Africa. Maybe I am not going through with the sale.

    I am going to research the secure paypal terms – I really appreciate that you posted this warning.

  2. Kitty Frank on February 5th, 2010 5:22 pm

    I forgot to ask…..did you contact paypal about the use of their name in this? Obviously paypal uses their own domain name for email addresses, but many people may not catch that.

Want to comment on this scam report?
Respond through the form below.





Subscribe to this post without commenting